Why Do I Juice?

Garden-Green-Giant-Facebook

About a year ago I thought that there was no reason to juice because it takes away the fiber. I wanted to stick with my daily powerhouse smoothie, which I thought was healthier than juice.  Years later I have learned that there are benefits to both juicing and smoothies. Personally, I like to juice and make smoothies as apart of my daily diet. Today, I am going to talk about Why I like to juice!

What is juicing?

First, let’s talk about what juicing is exactly. Juicing is when you take raw fruits and vegetables and put them into a juicer at home. The benefits of juicing at home are you get lots of nutrients. If you consume juice from the grocery store you are not getting the same nutrients because it is not as fresh and it holds preservatives. When you juice at home it is important to drink your juice immediately after juicing to preserve the immune boosting nutrients.

Why I like juicing:

You absorb more nutrientsWhen you juice natural raw organic produce you are retaining the natural vitamins, minerals and enzymes that are present in these delicious fruits and vegetables.

No fiber- When I eat a lot of fiber I get an upset stomach. I can’t consume that much of my smoothie with all the fruits and veggies. By juicing I am able to consume more. I do eat fiber from other whole foods but I like getting more nutrients without the upset stomach.

You get more in a small amount- When you juice 2 sprigs of kale, a bunch of spinach, a sprig of parsley, 2 carrots, 2 celery, ¼ cucumber, 2 inches ginger, 1 lemon, and half an apple you get 8oz of juice! You can potentially consume more of your daily fruits and vegetables from just one glass!

I don’t feel full afterwards-When I drink a smoothie I feel super full only half way through. I drink my 8oz glass of juice and can still have a very nutritious lunch or dinner.

It’s easier to digest- Due to the lack of fiber your digestive system can digest the nutrients faster. Also, juicing gives your digestive system a break because it takes less energy for your body to digest juice vs. a solid food. You still get the nutrients but your body doesn’t have to work as hard.

It’s more alkaline-Our bodies need to stay in a slightly alkaline ph at just above  a 7. Much of the American diet is more acidic which causes disease in the body. If you shift your body to a more alkaline ph then you are healing your body. By consuming raw fruits and vegetables such as juicing you are keeping your body at a healthy balance.

Juicing is a great way to get more fruits and veggies into your diet as well as keeping your body at a good healthy balance. I hope my reasons to juice motivate you to try juicing.

Want to know what I drink everyday! Check out my super winter juice recipe below.

Erin’s Super Juice

2 small leaves of kale

1 handful spinach

1 sprig parsley

¼ cucumber

2 celery

2 carrots

1-2 inches fresh ginger

1 lemon

½ apple

½ pear

If you want to learn more about juicing and staying healthy go to  www.HealthWithErin.com

Leave a Reply

