Erin’s Classic Peanut Butter Balls

Ever since I was a kid peanut butter balls were a must during the Holiday season. As an adult it still is a favorite but I had to modify a few ingredients to make it a healthier. As you know I am ALL about the butter, real butter. So use grass fed butter which has tons have health benefits. Many peanuts can carry GMO’s which is not good for you. I choose an organic peanut butter which does not carry the harmful chemicals. The standard peanut butter balls I grew up with used processed powdered sugar which is very unhealthy. So I made my own powdered sugar with coconut sugar. If you don’t know coconut sugar actually has nutritional benefits. So I powdered the coconut sugar in a blender with arrowroot to resemble powdered sugar. After mixed the texture is softer and the look is darker then if you used regular powdered sugar. Lastly, I used Enjoy Life chocolate chips because they are free of gluten, dairy, and soy. It is just plain good chocolate.

I hope this holiday season you choose to use healthier ingredients for your favorite Christmas goodies. Enjoy!

unnamed

Yields: About 37 peanut butter balls

Ingredients

1/2 cup grass fed butter

1 cup organic peanut butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

2.5 cups coconut sugar (ground fine to a powder)

2.5 tablespoons arrowroot

2 cups chocolate chips

1-2 tablespoons coconut oil

Directions

1. With a hand mixer or using a spoon, blend the butter in a bowl and whip well.
2. Add peanut butter and blend well together.
3. Add vanilla
4. In a high powdered blender put the coconut sugar and arrowroot and blend until well incorporated. Allow to sit in blender for a minute to allow the powered to stop floating.
5. Slowly add the powdered coconut sugar mixture to the peanut butter mixture and stir until well incorporated.
6. With a spoon roll the mixture into 1 inch balls.
7. Melt the chocolate & coconut oil over a double boiler and keep on low to prevent burning.
8. One at a time roll the peanut butter balls in the chocolate. With a spoon or fork gently shake off excess chocolate. Place the now peanut butter chocolate balls on a baking sheet with parchment paper.
9. To speed up the process I place this backing sheet in the fridge for about 1 hour.

I hope you enjoy these peanut balls as much as my family and I. If you want to learn more about nutrition and your health contact me at Health With Erin.

Leave a Reply

